D16 2009 Premier's Award Recipients

Posted: May 7, 2009

The Premier's Awards of Excellence in Education has been awarded to District 16 educators Rick Hayward, Patrick Scully and the District 16 student services literacy team. Following are the citations and quotes published by the New Bruswick Department of Education. For the complete news release visit Recipients selected to receive Premier's Awards of Excellence in Education (09/05/01) District Award:   District 16 - Rick Hayward Hayward has been a teacher, vice-principal and principal. His role as one of the province`s first technology mentors has earned him recognition for his outstanding contribution to innovation in education. He is credited for being a driving force behind the success of the community access centres; for developing innovative student projects about community leadership; and for laying the framework for exchanges and connections between schools in District 16 and the Netherlands. Provincial Award;   Inclusion: Patrick Scully - District 16 Scully has high expectations for all students because he sees them for who they are and what they can do, rather than what they cannot. As a classroom teacher, athletic director or community volunteer, Scully has gained recognition as a role model for methods and resource teachers. He has earned the respect of parents, staff and students through his calm demeanor and quiet confidence during his 23 years at Bonar Law Memorial School, Rexton. Provincial Award;   To ensure school readiness: District 16 student services literacy team - District 16 For the past 10 years, the District 16 student services literacy team has conducted the Teddy Bear's Picnic for students eligible to enter kindergarten in the fall. The Teddy Bear's Picnic is carried out in partnership with Extra-Mural Hospital teams in Miramichi and Rexton with the assistance of nearby First Nations. This screening helps kindergarten teachers assure that all students begin school successfully "I wish to thank this year's recipients of the Premier's Awards of Excellence in Education for their ongoing commitment to promoting innovation, leadership and excellence in our education system, and for guiding our students toward a bright future," said Premier Shawn Graham. "Their leadership in education will prepare our students to inherit a self-sufficient New Brunswick and equip them with the confidence, skills and knowledge to meet the challenges of tomorrow." The award program recognizes and celebrates individuals or groups for their contribution to public education in New Brunswick. Awards are presented for excellence and achievements in each district and at the provincial level.